Let Us Not Grow Weary

Although I spend my days mostly alone in my home office, I have enough access to social media and interact with enough people who stay on top of current news to get my daily fill of what’s happening around the world and locally. Sometimes I wish I could block it all out, however. Know what I mean?

Every day I hear about new developments in political races, international affairs, religious issues and social trends and most of it is discouraging. Just one or two decades ago, when I was a young adult, it seemed like we dealt with one social issue at a time and hashed it out for a while until it either was resolved or blew over. Nowadays it feels like something new needs our attention every day.

sigh-charlie-brown

Do you ever wonder,

“How much worse are things going to get? Why doesn’t God do something? When is Jesus coming back?”

Do you ever feel like it’s too hard to keep going as a Christian in a world that is becoming increasingly secular, godless and hostile toward anything that has to do with Jesus and the Word of God? It can be tempting to just give up and “go with the flow.”

There’s a verse that is often on my mind and I find it so motivating that I’ve started adding the reference every time I sign one of my books for someone. Galatians 6:9 reminds us:

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”

I understand the word “weary” these days more than ever before. I spent most of June trying to recover from a nasty virus that gave me strep throat and an ear infection and, believe me, I grew weary. I didn’t feel like working, I sulked a lot and it took more effort than I wanted to make to accomplish simple tasks.

That’s how I feel sometimes when I look at what’s going on in the world. I think,

“Why bother? What difference can my small acts of service make? How can God possibly use me when the waves of change are so strong and relentless?”

Then God reminds me of little things that make a big difference: the small rudder on a ship that helps steer the huge vessel in the right direction, microscopic white blood cells that fight infections in our bodies, bees the size of your thumbnail that pollinate agricultural crops and are responsible for one-third of the bites of food we eat… The list is long!

You, too, are truly valuable in God’s kingdom!

Still feeling unsure? I encourage you to memorize and prayerfully meditate on Galatians 6:9 this week.



P.S. I have lots of news I’d like to share with you, which is one reason it’s taken me so long to update my blog (I’ve been waiting for a chunk of time to sit down and organize it all). In the meantime, I finally decided to go ahead and share the meditation above with you. I’ll try to write again this week and give you some fun updates and links. 🙂

Tagged: , , ,

Please share your thoughts!

