My Heart, Christ’s Home

Over a dozen years ago, I read a little booklet called My Heart, Christ’s Home, written by Robert Boyd Munger in 1951. It is a challenging meditation about Christian discipleship with estimates that more than 10 million have read it. When I read it the first time, it reminded me of basic truths that I need my attention drawn to every now and again.

home-40700_1280Imagine Jesus coming to the home of your heart when you receive Him as your Saviour. As He moves from room to room, what does He see?

In the library, are you embarrassed to let Him see what is on the shelves?

In the dining room, what’s on the menu? What appetites do you try to satisfy there? Do you allow Christ to replace your secular fare with His soul-satisfying food and drink?

In the workroom, does He find that you are using your gifts and talents for His glory or are your tools rusting and collecting dust?

Do you even allow Him into the rec room where you go for fun and leisure activities? Is it a place you would feel comfortable inviting Him to hang out with you?

What about the bedroom? Are your relationships pure and godly? Will you consider His guidelines, keeping in mind He gives them out of His love for you and not to stifle you?

Is there anything rotting in your hall closet that you’ve hidden away? Will you let Him clean it out?

The living room is the ideal place to meet with Him for fellowship. But do you visit with Him regularly, talking and sharing or does He sit there waiting for you to make some time for Him?

I love Munger’s interpretation of what Jesus might say:

“The trouble is that you have been thinking of the quiet time of Bible study and prayer as a means for your own spiritual growth. This is true, but you have forgotten that this time means something to me also. Remember, I love you. At a great cost I have redeemed you. I value your fellowship. Just to have you look up into my face warms my heart. Don’t neglect this hour if only for my sake. Whether or not you want to be with me, remember I want to be with you. I really love you!”

Jesus may be your Saviour—but have you truly made Him Lord of your life, of your heart… His home?

♥ Note: You can read the entire text of My Heart, Christ’s Home here. It’s only six pages long.

Tagged: , ,

Please share your thoughts!

