Mid-January . . . Already?

I feel like I blinked and we jumped from January 1 to January 14. I’m afraid to blink again lest I find myself celebrating my 57th birthday or something. Of course, that’s exactly how it will feel on my 57th birthday. (Ack! Less than 15 years to go!)

Well, 2015 is clearly going to be a busy year. My wall calendar is already covered in colour-coded abbreviations denoting deadlines and meetings and trips. Hopefully that means I stay out of trouble, but it also means I will have to be more strategic about making time for fun and rest and reading and creativity. Bring it on!

Rather than write a long blog update, this week I simply want to share links (along with wee excerpts) to four of my latest published pieces. If you have time to read them, I believe you will find them encouraging. Please leave comments and share the links with friends!

My personal testimony of trusting Jesus as my Lord and Saviour at A Look at the Book

Time and time again, God reminds me that He loves me, He’s on my side and He’s still not finished with me. I have been on the receiving end of His discipline, but I have also felt His grace and compassion in my lowest moments. My life might not have changed drastically on January 1, 1980, but if I didn’t know Jesus today, I hate to think of where I’d be.

“New Year’s Resolution” – my first contribution to More to Life Magazine

Ironically, the motive behind most resolutions is to make us feel better about ourselves, a flawed strategy that inevitably leads to failure. Try this: Instead of writing down all the things you can do to like yourself better 12 months from now, ask the Lord to help you start a revolution in your life and in your family, to transform you from the inside out.

“Wanting Not” – my column in ChristianWeek

I listed the things I wanted—to lose weight, to have a vibrant devotional life, to have victory over sin, to manage my time better, etc. Not a single thing on my list seemed contrary to God’s will but I knew I wanted those things more than I wanted God. Things began to change when I made hungering for God my daily, overarching goal.

“Beware the Feel-Good Quote” – my column at Choose NOW Ministries

Quotes can be great for motivating, inspiring and amusing us. Many of them are quite insightful and  can help us articulate truths we already know. The problem is, it’s so easy to click “share” or “retweet” or “forward” when we come across a saying that sounds deeply philosophical, that we sometimes don’t take the time to think critically about the message being conveyed.

Love of Christ“I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. . . who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.” (Ephesians 3:17-20)

Please share your thoughts!

