Looking Back, Looking Forward

Like many people, I love new things and new beginnings: a blank notebook, new socks, a freshly cleaned room and, most of all, the first day of a new year. I am also fond of antiques and vintage treasures so one might think I’m a little confused, but I don’t think there’s a conflict here. I believe it’s healthy to appreciate and learn from the past as long as you don’t cling to it too tightly, and it’s also important to move forward and experience renewal as long as you don’t miss out on the blessings of the moment.

backThe Bible says: “Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me.” (Isaiah 46:9)

Three chapters earlier, however, we see these words: “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing!” (Isaiah 43:18-19a)

Is this a contradiction? It might appear so at first glance but I don’t believe it is. There are things in the past we must forget and let go of so that God can bring new blessings and experiences and lessons into our lives. And yet we must not forget what He has done for us in the past and how faithful He has been.

May God help you discern what to remember and what to forget as you begin this fresh new year!


On a more personal note, I’ve been enjoying the benefits of creating a special spot (and making extra time) for writing, journaling, reading my Bible and brainstorming. In the coming weeks I’ll share some of the inspiration that comes out of this.

I’ve also been dabbling in magnetic poetry (thanks to a young friend who sent me a set of words). You can see my first attempts below. 🙂 (I am using the cover of a plain tin box to hold the letters and then hanging it from a couple of push pins on my bulletin board.)

iconsOh, one last thing! I’ve just added a new page to this blog where you can find any freebies I’ve posted in one spot: https://annhovsepian.wordpress.com/freebies/. (In the future, you can just click on the big red circle (pictured here) at the top of the screen to open the page menu.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Looking Back, Looking Forward

  1. Linda Wednesday, January 7, 2015 at 11:21 pm Reply

    Thank you for sharing these thoughts today….i

    • Ann-Margret Wednesday, January 7, 2015 at 11:44 pm Reply

      My pleasure, Linda! Thanks for stopping by. God bless you!

  2. Jonathan Thursday, January 8, 2015 at 4:59 am Reply

    If you like new things and vintage things, maybe it’s a reminder that there are new beginnings or new uses for everything and everyone. This is a great encouragement to ‘reuse, reduce and recycle”; it is also a great encouragement to know that God can give us a second chance

    • Ann-Margret Thursday, January 8, 2015 at 10:48 am Reply

      Great thoughts, Jonathan, and very fitting as I really enjoy “repurposing” old items and giving them new life. That IS a great picture of how God restores and renews us. Thanks for your comments! 🙂

Please share your thoughts!

