Brave New Year

This captioned photo was my New Year’s Eve post on Facebook:

One of my goals for 2015 is to be more confident and relaxed, and less timid and self-conscious. So here’s me being silly for the camera. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

NYE collage

This morning a friend asked what steps I’m taking to achieve this “unique” goal. Here’s how I responded:

I guess it is a bit unusual. First, a bit of preamble: Since last summer, I’ve been reflecting a lot on how often I have hesitated or held back because of fear, insecurity or the influence of others’ words. My goal isn’t to become prideful or arrogant but, rather, to start discerning between what is true and what I feel. I write and speak about finding one’s worth in Christ and embracing who God created us to be, but I don’t always live that out in my own life. I want to change that and start being more authentic, more brave, more reliant on God than on myself, without always trying to be my own (or others’) interpretation of “perfect.”

As for steps I’m putting in place…Whereas some people make the mistake of not thinking twice before making a decision, I err on the side of over-thinking, so I’m scaling that back and giving myself permission to just go for it when I feel God opening a door for me or when I feel inspired to do something. I’m also making note of the good choices I make and their results, which helps motivate me to keep making positive choices. I don’t have a specific strategy to share with you but it’s something I’ve been praying about. I have to be careful to balance confidence with humility and that’s an interesting challenge I’m looking forward to exploring this year.

How about you? Do you have any goals for 2015? I have a few specificย projects I’d like to complete but, at this point, being more courageous and open-hearted is my overall goal for the coming year.

HAPPY NEW YEAR! See you here again soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tagged: , , ,

Please share your thoughts!

