5 Things I’m Loving Right Now

I haven’t posted one of these favourites lists since June so, without further ado, here are my latest crazes, in no particular order!

1. BarkTHINS Dark Chocolate Peppermint Pretzel with Sea Salt

barkthinsI discovered these at Costco today and bought a 482g bag. Big mistake! I’m struggling not to eat the whole package in one sitting. They are so, so, so good! So many of  my favourite things rolled into one delicious treat: dark chocolate, peppermint, pretzels and salt. Yummm! Just don’t say I didn’t warn you. These are addictive.

I also love the Dark Chocolate Pumpkin Seed with Sea Salt, which I’ve sampled at my sister’s home. Wow! I’d better not buy a bag for myself.

 

2. Mr. Selfridge

mast-selfridge-icon-series

I don’t watch any TV (unless I’m in a hotel and have some time to kill) but I do have a Netflix Canada account and occasionally catch up on movies or TV series. Currently, while I wait for the latest Downton Abbey and Sherlock seasons to be available, I’m enjoying Season 2 of Mr. Selfridge, starring Jeremy Piven (his scenes in Chasing Liberty were hands-down my favourite!) I don’t like all the story lines or characters but, oh, it’s so beautiful to watch! The costumes and sets are stunning. The old-fashioned mannerisms and etiquette are delightful. And the glimpse into the political climate of the early 1900s is a good reminder of the difficult times our grandparents grew up in.

3. Literary Starbucks

This crossed my Facebook news feed a few weeks ago and I almost didn’t click through to read it all but I’m so glad I did. I laughed and laughed and laughed. And I don’t even drink coffee! A few of these authors/characters were not familiar to me but I still appreciated the clever writing. Those that I recognized well, however, had me in stitches. Enjoy!

If Authors Ordered at Starbucks (There’s a link to the complete tumblr site but I like the compilation on the page I’ve linked to.)

4. Red & White by Sally Meadows

Writers tend to stumble into each other on social media and I’ve had the pleasure recently to “meet” Sally Meadows, a singer/songwriter and author in Saskatchewan. She’s got a sweet Christmas CD that you’ll want to check out! Here’s the review I wrote on Amazon:

I’m always a little wary about new Christmas albums because so many of them are contrived and obviously trying very hard to make old tunes sound new and modern and original. It often doesn’t work. That’s why it was such a nice surprise to listen to Sally Meadows’ new album. She has a lovely, clear voice and the music is neither brash nor boring. Also, there are a couple of pretty new tunes penned by Meadows herself! I especially like her medley of the traditional “O Little Town of Bethlehem” with her own “The Boy Who Will Be King” and hit repeat on that several times. What I appreciate most about this album is the absence of silly “holiday” or winter-themed songs that don’t touch the soul. This is a great collection of both old and new, with a sweet and fresh sound. Perfect for snowy winter days and a great way to focus on CHRIST at Christmas.

5. “31 to Be Exact”

Actually, this isn’t all that recent but I haven’t mentioned it on my blog before. I normally am not a big fan of “spoken word” but I appreciated this piece by 31 Status so much that I shared it with the women at our annual fall retreat in early October. I don’t think I should even give this an introduction. It (literally!) speaks for itself.

Thanks for stopping by! My next post will be something a bit more reflective. Have a great week!

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “5 Things I’m Loving Right Now

  1. Salena Monday, November 24, 2014 at 10:56 pm Reply

    “31TBE” pretty powerful message!
    Thanks for posting, I really love it!

    • Ann-Margret Monday, November 24, 2014 at 11:00 pm Reply

      Glad you liked it, Salena! Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  2. bobharder Tuesday, November 25, 2014 at 12:48 pm Reply

    You realize now I will have to go to Costco and buy a bag of Bark Thins. 🙂

    • Ann-Margret Tuesday, November 25, 2014 at 1:02 pm Reply

      Maybe I should ask for commission!

Please share your thoughts!

