Puffy Christmas Tree Tutorial

On Saturday afternoon, a friend and I were invited to one of our local Baptist churches to teach their ladies’ group a Christmas craft. I had come across some cute ornaments (for sale) that were basically Christmas trees made with fabric and stuffed, with a cinnamon stick as the tree trunk. I thought, “I can do that!” So I experimented until I ended up with something I was happy with.

When I posted a photo of my samples (the two plaid trees in the photo on the left) on Facebook, a few of my friends asked for a tutorial. Now, I’ve never created a tutorial, even though I’ve been crafting for years, often creating completely from my imagination or as a result of being inspired by something I’ve seen. So this first attempt at a tutorial is raw and informal, simply because I don’t have the time, know-how or equipment for fancy photography. I hand-wrote instructions for quick printing (links at the bottom of this post) but will also include the instructions here with some photos. (Click on the photos to see the instructions that go with each one.) I’d love your feedback (and photos!) if you try this craft. If the tutorial works well and there’s enough demand, I’ll clean it up to make it more share-worthy.

Variations: Change the size of the fabric for bigger or smaller trees. Use a rectangle for a skinnier tree. Use a twig for the tree trunk. Use felt instead of fabric. Use your imagination!

Here are the free printables:

Page 1

Page 1

Page 2

Page 2

Page 3

Page 3

Page 4

Page 4

I have absolutely no problem with you passing this tutorial along to friends but please use the share buttons below so that they come directly to my blog. Thanks!

Edited to add on December 5: Here are some trees that Fernanda, the friend who taught the craft session with me, recently made. She successfully attempted different sizes!

Fda's trees 2 Fda's trees

Tagged: , , ,

5 thoughts on “Puffy Christmas Tree Tutorial

  1. Heather Grace Stewart Monday, November 17, 2014 at 12:43 pm Reply

    Beautiful! We may just try this…I’m not especially crafty but I think your directions will help!

    • Ann-Margret Monday, November 17, 2014 at 12:47 pm Reply

      Great! It really is pretty simple. The hardest part might be threading the needle. 😀 And the great thing about this craft is that it’s quirky and primitive, so it doesn’t have to be all neat and perfect. 🙂

  2. […] Les instructions pour ces arbres bouffantes est super facile à comprendre et tout le monde peut faire des ornements d’arbre. Pensez à utiliser cela comme une activité principale, la couture à la main. Le tutoriel pour faire ces mignon, ornements d’arbre bouffis se trouve à Piece of Mind. […]

    • Ann-Margret Monday, October 9, 2017 at 7:37 am Reply

      Merci de m’avoir informé que vous avez partagé mon tutoriel! Vous avez un superbe blog. 🙂

Please share your thoughts!

