Grace Tells Another Story

Has this ever happened to you? The very day you are painfully aware of how undeserving of grace you are, God showers you with it. You’ve blown it again, messed up, failed, fumbled everything and, although you’ve confessed and asked for forgiveness, you’re ready for the scolding you know you should receive. And then you get an affirming email from someone that makes you smile. Or a friend prays with you about a project or interview you feel nervous about and it goes well. You notice you’ve lost two pounds! While you’re still reflecting on these blessings, you receive a care package from an out-of-town friend.

This type of thing happens to me a lot! And today has been one of those grace-filled days. Case in point: I received this bundle of love from my girlfriend Salena in Kitchener, Ontario. (She knows I’m a huge fan of DAVIDsTEA!) Thank you, sister! ♥

goodies

By the way, don’t you just love the RAOK card she included? I can’t wait to use it! (Actually, there are two. Double the fun! I think I will also make my own for future use.)

RAOK

Back to the topic of grace. . .God’s gentleness and mercy are so much more powerful and moving in those moments I know I don’t deserve them, because I know it’s all about who HE is and not who I am. (Please note: I’m not suggesting that we should sin so that we can later experience God’s grace. Romans 6:1-2 fits perfectly here: What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin so that grace may increase? May it never be! How shall we who died to sin still live in it?”)

There’s a lot I can learn from God’s grace about showing others compassion and understanding, about giving second and third (and fortieth) chances, about seeing the soul and its pain behind a person’s actions. Is there anything sweeter or stronger or more generous than grace, especially God’s grace?

One of my favourite contemporary songs about grace is MercyMe’s “Grace Tells Another Story.” I hope it will bless you today:

They say don’t waste your time
You simply cannot find
an ounce of good within the heart of man
They say we’ve got to lay
in the bed we’ve made
and live this life without a second chance
but I’m inclined to say there must be something more.

We’ve been told that the heart is just too far gone to save
but grace tells us another story.
Where glory sends hopelessness away,
oh, grace tells us another story. . .

And though we may not understand why
You’d give us another chance,
We praise You who lets us start again.

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Grace Tells Another Story

  1. Salena Friday, October 24, 2014 at 9:56 pm Reply

    Oh! I wasn’t expecting you to write about it! (A nice surprise to me!) Enjoy it!
    Sometimes we just need to slow down & take time to praise God for the little things that become a big blessing to us.
    Thank you for inspiring & encouraging my creative side (doodling, painting and just recently knitting, sorta!).
    Have fun creating a Random Act of Kindness for someone who crosses your path xoxo

    • Ann-Margret Friday, October 24, 2014 at 10:48 pm Reply

      Thanks again, Salena! I just happened to be doodling when I noticed your comment. 🙂 I’m glad I’ve been able to be an encouragement, too.

Please share your thoughts!

