Long-overdue Update

Hello friends! We’re already past the mid-way point of our mission trip in Armenia and I feel bad that I haven’t updated this blog since before I left Montreal. I have, however, been reporting on our daily activities on our mission trip blog, which I welcome you to check out if you’d like to know what kind of ministries we’ve been involved in.

On a more personal note, this trip (my second to Armenia) has really challenged me to feel contentment and gratitude in the midst of challenges. Since we arrived on August 13, I’ve had several different health issues come up, I stayed overnight in a village for three days in a home with no running water (they have a well outside), the weather has been much hotter than I’m used to, etc. At the same time, we’ve visited numerous homes where the families (or, in a few cases, widows) can barely scrape together their rent money, let alone money for food or personal expenses. Or a family member is severely ill. Or the father and husband has left home to get a job elsewhere and broken ties with his family. The family I stayed with in Horom has to live without running water 365 days a year, not three days.

Of course, all of this has reminded me that I have so much to be grateful for that if I were to list my blessings one by one, I would still be writing that list in my old age.

I hope that my father and I have been an encouragement to the people we’ve met here, and that we will continue to encourage them until we leave on September 4, and I also hope that the experiences we are sharing will inspire those of you back home who are reading about them. You don’t necessarily have to leave the comfort of your home for three weeks to feel compassion for those around you who are struggling (although it can help — let me tell you!) but it is important to have an open heart and to allow God to move you, to challenge you and even to make you feel uncomfortable sometimes.

We can’t solve all the problems in the world, but we can bring one person a smile or some hope or a touch of grace. One person at a time, one day at a time, we can make a difference.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you’d like to see more photos from our trip, you can view the full photo album on our ministry’s Facebook page.

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Long-overdue Update

  1. Cheryl Peck Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 5:28 pm Reply

    Thanks Ann-Margret. I am praying for you and your Dad. God is using you in such a loving way. I will pray as well for the people whom you meet, that they might be encouraged by your presence and willingness to meet with them. Blessings, Cheryl

    • Ann-Margret Wednesday, August 27, 2014 at 6:21 am Reply

      Thank you, Cheryl! You have been such an encouragement to us during this trip. Your comments and prayers are very much appreciated. 🙂

Please share your thoughts!

