Fix It

I used to be a huge CSI fan (okay, okay, I’ll admit it—I was also a Nick Stokes fan). Several years ago, when a friend lent me a novel based on CSI, I was naturally eager to read it. What I didn’t expect was that it would hit me with a spiritual lesson!

In one scene, a junior criminalist admitted to his supervisor that he hadn’t handled a confrontation properly. The older man responded: “Don’t beat yourself up. Fix it.”

keepcalmandfixitSimple and direct, but very wise. This reminded me that when we sin or fall into unhealthy habits or cause harm to a relationship, it’s not enough to just feel bad about it. It’s not enough to merely admit we’re sinners. The Bible makes it clear that we need to make things right with God (and with others) and repent (Acts 3:19, 2 Cor. 7:10, Rev. 2:5). “Repent” means to turn away from sin. If we don’t repent, our remorse is about as useful as sitting in your car after it’s fallen into a ditch and crying: “If only I’d taken the other road! If only I’d driven slower!” Feeling bad won’t get you out of the mess you’re in.

Have you botched things up in your marriage, at work, with a friend? Don’t beat yourself up. Don’t give up. Don’t cover up. Fix it. God will help you!

“Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16)

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9)

“I can do everything through him who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:13)

Tagged: ,

Please share your thoughts!

