Leave the Furniture at Home

In exactly three weeks, I’ll be on my way to Armenia (see my Mission Trips page) so I’ve got travel-related thoughts swimming around in my head. As such, this seems like a good time to share this tidbit:

There’s an old tale about three travelers who heard of a wise and devoted elderly believer some distance from where they were staying. They went out of their way to find this man so they could talk to and learn from him. When they found his hut, they were surprised to see that all he owned was a cot, a chair, a table and an old stove for heat and cooking. One of them blurted out, “Where is your furniture?”

The old man responded by asking, “Where’s yours?” The visitor said, “Well, at home, of course! I am not carrying it with me. I’m traveling!”

“So am I,” said the old man. “So am I.”

furnitureWhat about you? Are you carrying your earthly possessions around with you, hanging on to them with tight fists? Or do you hold them loosely, filling your heart with spiritual things instead? The Apostle Peter has good advice for us:

“Dear friends, I urge you, as foreigners and exiles [emphasis mine], to abstain from sinful desires, which wage war against your soul.” (1 Peter 2:11)

Jesus also said:

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in or steal; for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matthew 6:19-21)

We’re just travelers passing through this sinful, broken world. Let’s not get tied down to our “furniture”!

Please share your thoughts!

