5 Things I’m Loving Right Now

It’s been a while since I shared a list of favourite things so here we go! My latest top picks include:

1. DAVIDsTEA Honey Bee

There’s a DAVIDsTEA (a Canadian success just starting to trickle into the U.S.) less than two blocks from my house and I have to admit I’ve become a groupie. I don’t drink coffee so it’s fun to have a tea shop that allows me to explore interesting flavours and indulge once in a while. I love that there’s a rewards card and membership discounts (e.g. when you refill their tins with loose tea or, in the summer, their iced tea mug with the iced tea of the day) and the paraphernalia is really cute. As a bonus, the employees are always friendly and the shop itself is delightfully bright and cheery.

Davids-Tea

My hands-down favourite flavour? Honey Bee. The aroma alone makes it worth brewing this tea. So wholesome and comforting and not too sweet. If you have a DAVIDsTEA near you, you must try this flavour! I just refilled my tin and am going to try it chilled soon.

2. Q&A a Day

q&a

I’ve become too busy to journal regularly so the Q&A a Day: 5-Year Journal has become a fun way to jot down one thought or memory each day. I think the publisher’s description is better than anything I’d be able to articulate:

Do you ever stop to wonder how you got where you are? The Q&A a Day Journal shows you what was going through your head each day—for five years of your life. Simply turn to today’s date, answer the question at the top of the page, and when you finish the journal, start over. As you return to the daily questions again over the years, you’ll notice how your answers change (or don’t)! With questions that are sometimes provocative (“On a scale of one to ten, how happy are you?”), occasionally quirky (“What can you smell right now?”), and inevitably interesting (“If you could travel anywhere tomorrow, where would you go?”), this classically designed journal—embellished with beautiful details—is the perfect gift for anyone embarking on a new phase of life.

3. Chipper Bars

I made these for a BBQ last weekend and someone said, “This is the BEST dessert I’ve ever had! You should sell these!” Well, I wish I could take credit for the recipe but I must admit that first batch was prrrrrrretty yummy. I’m going to make these again later today to take to a family gathering tomorrow.

chipperbar

Here’s the recipe so you can try them, too!

The only thing I would add to the recipe is: Store the bars in the fridge if it’s really hot out. If you chill them overnight, they come out with a chewy but firm cookie consistency. If you leave them out, they’ll be softer squares. Either way, I love these because they’re sweet but the touch of peanut butter gives them a slightly salty edge. Enjoy! 

4. ProFoot Pedi-Rock

If you’ve ever scratched your ankle to the point of bleeding while using a pumice stone on your heels, you will understand why I was excited to discover this product.

profoot

While the exterior texture of this “stone” is sandpaper-y enough to get the job done, the interior is basically a big firm sponge that you can squeeze. It’s also ergonomic so it naturally fits into the palm of your hand, allowing you greater control of where it goes. You can use it wet or dry and it washes clean quickly.

Hmm, I wonder if ProFoot will pay me some kind of commission for promoting its product. 🙂

5. Microsoft Surface RT tablet

I finally did it! For over a year I’ve been saying I need a tablet to travel with (this became especially apparent when I went to Armenia last year and had to lug around my seven-pound laptop, which is now five years old. What’s that, eighty in human years?) So last month I shopped around and picked up one of the newest tablets on the market, the Microsoft Surface RT, along with a detachable keyboard. It took me a few days to get used to the Windows 8 operating system (I’m still on Vista on my laptop!) and the touch screen—not to mention figuring out the apps and cloud computing—but I’m generally a quick study and now I’m enjoying it.

Microsoft_Surface_RT

One of the handiest apps for me is the basic Calendar. I’ve always been a paper-and-pen kind of girl when it comes to keeping track of my projects, deadlines and appointments but I must admit that organizing my schedule on a tablet has given me a bit of a productivity boost. I’m not ready to get rid of my sticky notes and desk agenda yet but I’ve taken a tiny step out of the dark ages. 🙂

I’ve only had it a month but if anyone asked me for a tablet recommendation, I would definitely suggest this one. (What was I saying about commission?)

I’d love to hear from you if you try any of these products or the recipe. Or tell me about some of your latest favourite things. Maybe there’s something I’d like to try! 🙂

Tagged: ,

Please share your thoughts!

