Soul Searching

I’ve been pretty quiet since my last post, which may not surprise some of you if you read my introspective ramblings on February 28. I guess I’ve been doing some more soul searching regarding things like how much time I spend on social media and where God is calling me to invest my time and energy. Happily, I’ve been gaining clarity.

One exciting development is that I’ve just joined several other writers at A Look at the Book, a blog dedicated to sharing insight from God’s Word through various interesting formats (from brief thoughts to longer reflections). My posts will be featured on the second Tuesday of each month and I’ll be starting in April. In the meantime, however, I was tickled to discover this morning that THIS blog (Piece of Mind) is the featured blog of the week at A Look at the Book (there’s my photo and link to my blog in the right-hand column, partway down the page). I’m looking forward to spending some more time in personal Bible study as I participate. Please check out the other contributors’ posts and blogs and follow along on our journey!

Also, it’s funny how a doctor’s proclamation can sometimes be the kick in the pants we need to finally start taking care of ourselves. Last fall, I faced some challenges when both my ankles inexplicably ballooned like grapefruits. Several blood tests, x-rays and an MRI finally revealed that it was an incidence of tendinitis, possibly a flare-up of psoriatic arthritis. I seem to be okay now, though there is some risk of further sprains if I’m not careful. As such, my rheumatologist suggested two things: wearing ankle sleeves for support when I walk and. . .losing some weight. My first thought was, “Tell me something I don’t already know! I’ve been trying to lose weight.” Amazingly, though, since our conversation on Tuesday night, my whole attitude toward diet and weight loss has changed. I’ve taken my focus off my vanity and pride and placed it on my health. God gave me this body and I’m responsible for taking good care of it. And so I have been doing that these last few days and I’m already feeling a difference.

And, finally, I’ve decided I don’t need to keep up with everyone’s posts on Facebook. (I’d already given up doing that on Twitter some time ago.) I’m only popping in for a few minutes a day to respond to personal messages or to post something quick on one of the pages I moderate (besides my own, I have my author page, our church’s page and our family’s ministry page). I’ve been unplugging more and catching up on my book reading (I just started Dostoevsky’s The Idiot) and on my sleep!

Sometimes the smallest changes we need to make in life can be the toughest to put into motion but also the most rewarding. If you’re feeling restless or uncertain about where your time, energy and resources are going, I encourage you to take some time out to pray and reflect. What excites your soul? What enhances your relationship with God? What brings you joy (not pleasure, but joy)? What brings joy to the people you love? The answers to these questions are clues that will help you make better choices in your life.

To close, here’s a quote from my first book, Designer Genes. Feel free to share this graphic!

Beauty

4 thoughts on “Soul Searching

  1. Bridget Childress Friday, March 21, 2014 at 9:38 am Reply

    So glad that you have joined us over at A Look At A Book. I also understand the need to scale back a bit on social media sites. If we aren’t careful they can consume us and keep us from doing things that need to be done like caring for ourselves.

    • Ann-Margret Friday, March 21, 2014 at 9:45 am Reply

      Thanks for your comment, Bridget! I’m excited about A Look at the Book and am looking forward to contributing. Funny how both our posts today touched on the same topic. 😀

  2. swirlsofthought Saturday, March 22, 2014 at 12:39 am Reply

    Thanks for mentioning us in the post- we’re glad to have you joining the team! I totally hear you on switching your view of diet! We have made several changes to our diet over the last year- not for vanity sake but for our health so, it’s the whole family, and it’s permanent changes because we’ve been convinced of what is healthy and what isn’t. As I type I realize that same principle is what you’ve applied to social media as well- you’re being more choosy in a couple of areas 😉 I have to join your rank in social media/internet! I have to find the balance between what has to be done and cutting out the fat! Thanks for linking up!!

    • Ann-Margret Saturday, March 22, 2014 at 7:06 am Reply

      Thanks for your comments, Ren! It’s always reassuring to know that our struggles are not uncommon. I also find that whenever I start cleaning up one area of my life, it’s easier to clean up others. These things seem to happen in threes or fours. 🙂

Please share your thoughts!

