Faith Like a Child

A few years ago, in the magazine Today’s Christian Woman, a reader shared this personal anecdote:

My family is close friends with another family who faithfully attends our church. Often we spend Sunday afternoons together relaxing at our house. Recently, when I phoned our friends, their four-year-old daughter Alicia answered and politely asked who was calling. To tease her, I said, “Alicia, you come to my house almost every Sunday and you don’t know who I am?”

In a reverential voice, she replied breathlessly: “Jesus?”

I smiled when I read this story, for a couple of reasons. First, I love that the little girl believed that Jesus really could be the one talking on the phone with her. Second, in reaction to the reference of a home she visits on Sundays, she first thought of the church and not the home of her parents’ friends.

childlike-faith (1)

How prominent is God in your heart and mind? Do you readily trust His ability and willingness to be there for you? Jesus said:

“I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 18:3-4)

May we all have faith like a child!

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Faith Like a Child

  1. Cheryl Peck Wednesday, November 13, 2013 at 10:18 am Reply

    Ann-Margret, your message is so beautifully put and I thank you for it. The faith of a child sounds so simple to have yet as adults complications, responsibilities and other man-made barriers can so easily keep us from achieving it. Your piece gently reminds me that I need to strive each day to come to Jesus with the pure heart of a child and in so doing replenish my joy and peace. Thanks.

    • Ann-Margret Wednesday, November 13, 2013 at 10:40 am Reply

      You’re welcome! It’s something I need to meditate on today, too.

Please share your thoughts!

