“If You Want Me to”

This evening I was praying about some trials I’m going through (one of them being a health issue we’re still trying to figure out) and asking God for strength and patience. As I recited James 1:2-4 to myself, I remembered the testimony and song Ginny Owens shared at the Rocketown concert back in 1998 or 1999. (While sharing her testimony, Ginny quoted this same passage and somehow my mind went back to that.)

When the CD first came out, I listened to this bit over and over again. It was so inspiring! (Little did I know that I would get to meet Ginny six years later and interview her face to face. Just a fun little piece of trivia there.) In case you don’t know this, Ginny is blind but an accomplished musician, songwriter and singer.

I’m glad this clip came to mind and I was able to find it on YouTube (please note that it’s audio only). If you have ever wondered why God allows bad things to happen to you or why He doesn’t answer your prayers the way you expect Him to, you’ll want to listen to this.


The lyrics to Ginny’s song go like this:

The pathway is broken and the signs are unclear
And I don’t know the reasons why you brought me here.
But just because you love me the way that You do
I’m gonna walk through the valley if you want me to.

Cause I’m not who I was when I took my first step
And I’m clinging to the promise You’re not through with me yet.
So if all of these trials bring me closer to You
Then I will go through the fire if you want me to.

And it may not be the way I would’ve chosen
When you lead me through a world that’s not my home
But you never said it would be easy
You only said I’d never go alone.

So when the whole world turns against me
And I’m all by myself
And I can’t hear you answer my cries for help
I’ll remember the suffering that your love put you through
And I will go through the valley if you want me to.

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” — James 1:2-4

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on ““If You Want Me to”

  1. bobharder Friday, November 1, 2013 at 10:09 am Reply

    I’ll be praying for you Ann-Margret 🙂

    • Ann-Margret Friday, November 1, 2013 at 10:12 am Reply

      Thanks, Bob!

Please share your thoughts!

