Three favourite Internet tricks

I’m pretty old-school when it comes to gadgets and technology, so don’t ask me about smartphones or apps or iWhatevers. However, as a freelancer who uses the Internet every day to do research and to either glean or share images, text and ideas, I’ve picked up some neat gems that make my life easier. Perhaps some of these will be new to you and, hopefully, useful. Enjoy!

PrintFriendly – This free widget, once added to your browser’s bookmark toolbar, allows you to cleanly print any web page, with the option to delete any images, headings, etc. that you don’t need.

Snipping Tool – Forget the PrtSc button. This is the easiest way to select anything on your screen that you want to show to someone else and quickly save it as a picture file. I use it often!

PicMonkey – I just discovered this free online photo editor and I want to yell: “Where were you my whole life???” Okay, so it has probably been around for a really long time, unbeknownst to me. Considering how often I want to manipulate photos for my blog or Facebook page—and I don’t have Photoshop or Illustrator—this is going to be a lot of fun to play with. There are many, many options to choose from to slightly adjust or wildly change your photos: textures, backgrounds, frames, special effects and more.

Here’s an example. I took this simple doodle:

before

And turned it into this:

after

And then this:

after 2

The possibilities are endless. Imagine what you could do with actual photos. (I just happened to experiment with a scanned illustration, and not a very good one at that.)

So, there you go! I have many, many other favourite sites but I think this is a good start. Have a great weekend…and if you’re Canadian, Happy Thanksgiving!

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Three favourite Internet tricks

  1. Wendy Saturday, October 12, 2013 at 4:01 pm Reply

    Cool, but I just learned to use a computer two years ago so this is too much for me!!

    • Ann-Margret Saturday, October 12, 2013 at 4:53 pm Reply

      You’re doing great for a “two-year-old”! Maybe one day I’ll post some fun links that even new computer users can enjoy. 😀

Please share your thoughts!

