“Prosolitude”

Sorry for the long delay in posting! I have four drafts of new posts in my blog queue (See? I really was trying!) but none of those entries developed into anything I wanted to post. Until now. Whew! ๐Ÿ˜€

When I came across this quote last night, it made me smile so I just had to add it to my art journal. And then I felt like I had to share it, partly because I know that many of you can relate to it and partly to explain to others why I sometimes withdraw into my quiet place. It’s not that I don’t like being around people (I’m actually generally very fond of everyone I meet unless they give me reason not to be). But regularly spending time in solitude is myย best way to grow and learn and, hopefully, become a better person to be around.

You know, it occurs to me that Jesus was “prosolitude,” too. Luke 5:16 says: “But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.” (emphasis mine) Matthew 14:23, Mark 1:35, Luke 6:12 also talk about Jesus going off to a quiet place to pray.

Granted, I’m not necessarily praying every time I’m alone, but solitude is definitely conducive to prayer and meditation. Solitude can be used in a very positive way as long as the motive is not to be anti-social. In fact, I would suggest that times of solitude can be used to be a blessing to others, especially if you have creative talents such as writing, painting, sewing, baking, etc.

So, if you have friends who need a bit more privacy and alone time than you do, give them a break and give them some space. They’ll appreciate it so much that you may find they want to spend more time with you! And if you’re someone who is “prosolitude” but feels misunderstood, feel free to direct people to this post. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Speaking of creating during times of solitude, I’ve been experimenting in my art journal lately (click on an image below to make the gallery pop up), particularly with watercolours and ultra-fine pens. I think I’m finally settling into a lettering style that is “me” and not an imitation of someone else’s work. The flowers were fun, too, but I’d like to see what else I can do with this style. Stay tuned!

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on ““Prosolitude”

  1. bobharder Thursday, October 3, 2013 at 7:32 pm Reply

    I share your thoughts on a solitude life Ann-Margret. I’ve always preferred to do my own thing, and allow it to draw me closer to God and people in my life. God knows I’m quiet, somewhat a loner and yet he continues to bless my life in so many ways.

    • Ann-Margret Friday, October 4, 2013 at 9:25 pm Reply

      I just realized that one of my earlier posts on this blog was about the value of loneliness. God can definitely use the quiet, “alone” times in our lives for our good. It’s great that you see the value in that.

  2. Fernanda Lueiza Friday, October 4, 2013 at 7:13 pm Reply

    I like the “Prosolitude” word too ๐Ÿ™‚
    … and “God is always on time” makes me so much sense. I remembered many occasions in my life where I thought He wasn’t going to show up at all, but there He was, just on time.

    • Ann-Margret Friday, October 4, 2013 at 9:24 pm Reply

      Thanks for your comment, Fernanda! I have been thinking about “God is always on time” a lot lately. It’s easy to wonder why He’s not answering our prayers but that’s because we have expectations that He will answer them a certain way within a certain time frame. And then He amazes us once again! ๐Ÿ˜€

Please share your thoughts!

