Becoming “Somebody”

A couple of years ago, I came across this quote by Madonna:

I have an iron will, and all of my will has always been to conquer some horrible feeling of inadequacy… I push myself as a special human being and then I get to another stage and think I’m mediocre and uninteresting… Again and again. My drive in life is from this horrible fear of being mediocre. And that’s always pushing me, pushing me. Because even though I’ve become Somebody, I still have to prove that I’m Somebody. My struggle has never ended and it probably never will.”

Madonna’s relentless pursuit of success and significance is probably common to most of humankind. We long to reach a place where we will finally feel that we matter, that our life has meaning, that we have value. Jesus addressed this yearning. In Luke 12:22-34 we read about how He reassured His disciples that they did not need to worry about tomorrow, about their daily needs because their heavenly Father would provide all they needed. He tenderly added:

“Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom.”

And in John 1:12 we read:

“Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God…”

Children of God! We don’t need to try to become “somebody” because, through Christ, we are already more than just “somebody” to the Creator of the universe and the King of Kings! 

If you’re struggling with feelings of inadequacy, I pray that you will recognize that only God can fill that longing. Not a successful career, not fame, not wealth, not other people. . .only God. If you don’t yet have a relationship with Him, please send me an email at ann @ annhovsepian . com (remove the spaces) and I’d be happy to share more with you about that.

In closing, I’d like to share this song, You Are a Child of Mine, by Mark Schultz: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ExLouwVF4Q4

child of God

Tagged: , , ,

Please share your thoughts!

