A random pretty

As a lover of design, colour and patterns, I have a tendency to soak in the details of any spot I find myself in, whether it’s decrepit and nondescript or luxurious and ornate. I could be in someone’s home, a bus, a restaurant washroom or a copy shop. You just never know where you’re going to discover beauty or creativity.

While in Armenia, we visited a tiny church in a town called Charentsavan. My dad had been invited to speak there on a Thursday night and, before the service, the pastor and a few of his deacons invited our group to the office for some sweets and a chance to chat. As usual, while we visited, my eyes wandered. The room was nothing special. The furniture was plain, there weren’t many decorations and the walls could have used a fresh coat of paint. And then I looked up:

ceiling medallion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m pretty sure my jaw dropped, leaving me looking like an idiot. I don’t know how or why this ornamentation ended up in that room but it was in perfect condition! The light fixture itself is quite pretty but it’s the medallion effect that really grabbed me.

I don’t really have any deep purpose for sharing this, other than the fact that I knew some of my artsy friends would enjoy it. At the same time, however, it does remind me that often, when we make a little extra effort to find beauty in people and in life, we are greatly rewarded.

So open your eyes. Look up. Look around. You never know what you’ll find.

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “A random pretty

  1. Judy Monday, September 9, 2013 at 10:54 am Reply

    I loved that photo of the presentation of the light on the ceiling (also the light fixture, the whole put together was nice). Very pretty indeed. It really is amazing how we are surrounded by random droplets of beauty as we meander through this journey we call life. Thanx for sending me your blogs. – Judy 🙂

    • Ann-Margret Monday, September 9, 2013 at 12:27 pm Reply

      Thanks for your comments, Judy! I’m glad you enjoyed the photo and that you’re following my blog. 😀

  2. Fda Lueiza Monday, September 9, 2013 at 6:53 pm Reply

    I loved it! All of it!
    So gorgeous ❤
    Beauty is anywhere, indeed.

    • Ann-Margret Monday, September 9, 2013 at 6:57 pm Reply

      So glad you liked this post! I knew an artist like you would appreciate it. 😀

Please share your thoughts!

