“Give My Life Away”

This morning, as I opened a blank Word document to type the notes for tomorrow morning’s Bible study class that my Dad teaches, I thought I should put on some Christian music to enjoy at the same time. The first song that came up on my iTunes playlist was “Give My Life Away” by Big Daddy Weave and I immediately thought of Armenia, even before I hit the play button.

The music style is completely different from what I heard in the churches there (though some of them do use contemporary tunes in their services) but the lyrics really describe where I’m at right now after spending three weeks among people who have learned to hold their few earthly possessions very loosely and focus their energies instead on family, on ministry and, in some cases, on simply making it through life one day at a time.

As a freelancer, I don’t have the high salary I could have if I worked for a publishing house or a large corporation but I’m aware that most people in the world would see me as affluent and privileged. I try to be thankful for everything I have but simple gratitude isn’t enough, is it? Sometimes I feel like Queen Esther who was swept into a world of luxury and pampering that her young girlfriends might have been in awe of. But she was placed in that strategic position and given those resources for a very special purpose: to be influential in saving her people.

Though I haven’t figured it all out yet (and maybe I never will), I believe God has brought me to this place in my life “for such a time as this.” I also think that’s true of all of us. Contrary to what prosperity theology teaches (don’t even get me started on that), I believe that we are stewards of the gifts God has blessed us with. We don’t deserve them. We didn’t earn them. Just as Jesus gave His life away, I believe I have to give my life away.

“Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me and for the gospel will save it. What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul?” (Mark 8:34b-36)

What about you? Are you ready to give your life away?

I earn it just to spend it, throw it out when it’s broken
Like a hamster on the wheel I keep making the spokes spin

Do I have what I have or does it have me
There’s only one way to know I can be free

I wanna give my life away
I wanna give my life away
Move every little thing standing in the way
Oh I wanna give my life away

It’s hard to believe when you’re scared of what “might be”
But you’ll never find what you need hanging on so tightly

Because life’s not the kind of gift that you can hold
The only way you can keep it is to let it go

I wanna give my life away
Cause I know that’s what You want me to do
Wanna give myself to You
Gonna give my life away
I’ve been changed by the Truth
If I give myself away
I’ll find myself in You

Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on ““Give My Life Away”

  1. LeeAnn Saturday, September 7, 2013 at 10:37 am Reply

    I took a moment to look through you missions photos the other night! How awesome you were able to go and speak the language. Last year my husband and I went to Albania. This past week another team went back to the same church to offer support as they reach out into their community. It’s not a surprise how much Jesus emphasizes community. Personal connections make things happen.

    • Ann-Margret Saturday, September 7, 2013 at 12:15 pm Reply

      So true, LeeAnn! Thanks for your comments and for sharing about your experience of going to Albania. It’s really good to get out of our comfort zone sometimes and see life through other people’s eyes.

  2. Julie Tsoukalas Saturday, September 7, 2013 at 11:13 am Reply

    Love it! The challenge comes in: do we trust the Lord with the things He has loaned to us? Often we cling to the material because we are secure in it. Funny how at times I find myself trusting the Lord with my eternity, but not the resources He has given me in the short term. Wonderful reminder!

    • Ann-Margret Saturday, September 7, 2013 at 12:14 pm Reply

      Julie, considering you’ve given up the comforts of home to be a full-time missionary in Zambia, you’re one of the last people I would have thought to challenge on this. And yet your response shows just how far God has brought you.

  3. Fda Lueiza Monday, September 9, 2013 at 7:10 pm Reply

    First time I hear Big Daddy Weave, I loved the song!
    When you think about giving your life to Jesus, complicated things start happening. Maybe that’s the reason why just a few really do it. The key is pray, be thankful and have faith because God is working 🙂

    • Ann-Margret Monday, September 9, 2013 at 9:18 pm Reply

      I’m so glad you liked the song! Big Daddy Weave has some good ones, if you like that style. You’re so right about how life changes when we start to surrender — it definitely can be a little scary but we can trust God to do amazing things when we obey Him.

Please share your thoughts!

