Checking in from Yerevan

It’s the end of our fourth full day in Armenia and since I’ve got Internet in my hotel room at the moment (I normally don’t and have to use the dining room downstairs), I thought I’d go ahead and post a wee update.

There’s already way too much to share in one post so I’ll start by providing links to our blog page (here) and my Facebook photo album (click on the photo below; you don’t need a Facebook account to access it).

???????????????????????????????

In a nutshell, this trip has been quite moving already. I’m seeing my Armenian heritage and culture with new eyes. I’m being reminded of what really counts in life as we visit ramshackle villages where people have to live off the land but are still content and extremely generous in their hospitality. I’m seeing how much we take for granted in more prosperous areas — not only in terms of individual affluence but also with regard to the basic infrastructure of the nation. Most of all, I’m witnessing how God works in people’s lives.

Then there’s the fun stuff, like seeing two people negotiate chickens in a cardboard box in the middle of a Yerevan street, zooming down the street (while trying to swerve around rusty old  Lada-style “mekenas”) without the strict speed limits and seat belt laws I’m used to in Canada or going into a store and trying to decipher product labels printed only in Armenian or Russian.

It’s hard to believe we’ve only been here four days and that we still have two weeks to go. So far, our health has been good but we do feel tired at the end of each day. Thankfully, we don’t seem to be suffering from jet lag. And the fatigue isn’t getting our spirits down because there is so much else to keep them up. 😀

More from me later…

Tagged: ,

Please share your thoughts!

