Five More Sleeps!

I haven’t mentioned it on my blog until now but many of you already know that I’m getting ready to go to Armenia next Tuesday for a three-week mission trip with my dad.

POP QUIZ! Where is Armenia? Many people have no idea so here’s a quick look at where it’s situated. Yup, it’s pretty small!

Armenia

This will be my first time in Armenia (my dad’s fourth) and my first time outside of North America since 1984. (I know…crazy, eh?) That time, our family went to Greece (where my father was born) for three weeks. I was only 12 then so I didn’t really enjoy being away from the familiarity and comfort (okay, and calmness) of home for so long. (I guess I was already a homebody!)

This time, I’m excited. I’ll be stepping out of my comfort zone for a big chunk of time but I feel like God has been preparing my heart for this. In the last five years, my father (with the support and encouragement of our family and also our church members) has been working with local pastors in Yerevan and surrounding villages to share the gospel (we’ve printed and distributed more than a million tracts, plus Bibles, New Testaments and copies of my dad’s book, God’s Workshop (translated into Eastern Armenian)) and to disciple new believers through home Bible studies and mentoring relationships. It’s a very exciting story but too long for me to share all about it here. If anyone wants to know more, please visit our family’s ministry website: www.josephhovsepianministries.com. We’ll be posting reports about our trip under the “What’s New?” section.

We’re taking two suitcases full of donated clothing and reading glasses and look forward to sharing these with families in need. Among other villages, we’ll be visiting Spitak, the area worst hit by the 1988 earthquake that devastated northwestern Armenia. Two earthquakes (6.9 and 5.8 magnitude), four minutes apart, took place on December 7 and were followed by aftershocks for months. An estimated 45,000 people were killed in the earthquake, 15,000 were injured and 517,000 were left homeless. Twenty-five years later, Spitak has not recovered and many families live in broken-down homes that are not much better than small shacks. The population today is only about 15,000.

Here’s an example of a home in Spitak:

Spitak

Our three weeks in Armenia will be jam-packed with speaking engagements for my dad, a baptismal service he’s been asked to officiate and visits to various families, so I won’t be able to get online very much. Still, I will try to post a few blog updates. I am sure I will have lots to tell you and many wonderful photos to share!

Those of you praying for this trip: Thank you!

Tagged: ,

8 thoughts on “Five More Sleeps!

  1. bobharder Thursday, August 8, 2013 at 9:38 pm Reply

    I will be praying for your safety, health and that God will touch your heart as no one else can. You already have a strong faith, and are a great example of a Godly woman Ann-Margret so may He continue his work in you.

    • Ann-Margret Thursday, August 8, 2013 at 9:49 pm Reply

      Thank you, Bob! Your prayers and kind words are appreciated.

  2. Cheryl Peck Friday, August 9, 2013 at 9:02 am Reply

    Dear Ann-Margret,
    Having known you for the past few years I think I understand how far out of your comfort zone you are going on this mission trip however I am very happy for you. I think that this is a God-inspired stretch and that will make all the difference. You will have two wonderful travelling companions, your Heavenly Father to prepare your heart, to strengthen you and to give you peace and your father Joseph who will lovingly guide you through the trip. I will be in prayer for you, your Dad, your Mom and the rest of the family that you are leaving behind. I will also pray for the situations and the people, which God will put in your path. May you be blessed, know joy, be challenged and enriched by this time apart and may you be aware at all times of the presence of God as He journeys with you.
    Enjoy my friend.
    Love,
    Cheryl

    • Ann-Margret Friday, August 9, 2013 at 9:18 am Reply

      Cheryl, what a wonderful message to find in my inbox this morning! Thank you so much for your prayers and encouragement. I’ve passed your note along to both my parents. What a blessing to have friends like you!

  3. janetweiler Saturday, August 10, 2013 at 10:39 pm Reply

    How exciting!!! I’ll be praying for you Ann-Margaret.

    • Ann-Margret Saturday, August 10, 2013 at 10:54 pm Reply

      Thank you so much, Janet! We really appreciate it.

  4. Brenda Mann Monday, August 12, 2013 at 4:36 pm Reply

    Praying for a safe and wonderful trip! I know it will be an amazing experience for you and I am praying for God;s perfect peace and direction each day. Can hardly wait to hear all about it when you return. Brenda

    • Ann-Margret Monday, August 12, 2013 at 5:09 pm Reply

      Thanks, Brenda! I’m starting to feel a bit jittery (but not in a bad way). We really appreciate your prayers and good wishes. 😀

Please share your thoughts!

