I wish I could hang out with…

I just created a new board on Pinterest. I may eventually add more names, as I think of them, to the current collection but there are four people in sort-of-recent history who intrigue me and I often wonder what it would be like to spend a day with them, just listening to them talk or observing them go through life. They are:

1. C.S. Lewis – As I said on Pinterest,  I can’t even express how much this man fascinates me. I hope I get to hang out with him in heaven or at least listen to him tell stories! (Here’s a fun fact that relates to my love of C.S. Lewis. Many years ago I decided that if I ever got a dog (presumably a male one), I would name him Jack (Lewis’ nickname).)

CS Lewis

2. Jane Austen – I think we would be soul sisters. As much as I love her books, it’s her own life story that interests me. I think she must have been a lovely person to know.

3. Albert Einstein – He was brilliant, but he was also “real” and had a great sense of humour. I would actually like to read more about his life. (Book suggestions welcome.)

4. Beatrix Potter – I was always familiar with her books but I didn’t realize what an amazing woman she was until the movie Miss Potter came out in 2006. I think she and I might have been great friends if we’d known each other!

My dream is to go to England one day and visit the homes of C.S. Lewis, Jane Austen and Beatrix Potter. I intended to go last year but it didn’t work out. Hopefully before I turn 50!

What about you? Who would you love to hang out with for a day if you could? Please leave a comment and let me know!

(By the way, in case anyone is wondering why Jesus Christ isn’t on this list, I figured that’s a given.) 😀

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “I wish I could hang out with…

  1. Bob Harder Wednesday, July 17, 2013 at 10:11 am Reply

    For me it would be all about music and history. I would love to spend time with Queen Elizabeth I. She played such an integral part in Britains history, at a time when a female monarch was looked on as sort of a joke.This next one might sound cliche but Elvis Presley. I remember him for his gospel roots though, and his very first misic award was for a hymn – not too many people know that. I would also like to add Charles Wesley. A writer of one of my favourite hymns (Love Divine, All Loves Excelling)

    • Ann-Margret Wednesday, July 17, 2013 at 11:49 am Reply

      Thanks for sharing, Bob! Those are all interesting choices.

  2. Bob Harder Wednesday, July 17, 2013 at 10:24 am Reply

    P.S. Elvis won his first grammy for “How Great Thou Art” His gospel roots and love of church choirs is what I would want to talk with him about.

Please share your thoughts!

