Sherlocking down the street…

Mid-morning yesterday, after a quick stop at the bank three blocks from my home, I was casually strolling north on Park Avenue (in Montreal, not New York, of course) and observing everyday people doing everyday things: pushing baby carriages, sipping coffees, walking dogs, waiting for buses and sorting through fresh Quebec strawberries.

Anyone happening to glance in my direction would have barely noticed the 40-something, nondescript woman with her ear buds securely in place.

And they definitelyΒ wouldn’t have detected the moment myΒ MP3 player switched to “Prepared to Do Anything” from the Sherlock soundtrack. (If you are not familiar with it, you can listen to it at the end of this post.) Somewhat subconsciously, my head tilted up, my back straightened and all my senses went on high alert. I had to suppress a grin when I realized I had gone into “consulting detective” mode. Striding through the humdrum of urban normalcy in broad daylight, I could not have chosen a more incongruous piece of music and yet, in some deep recess of my brain, the game was on. Every object, sound and movement around me was a clue, every person a suspect. I hit “repeat” on my player and headed home like a boss.

Why am I confessing this silly experience? Because it made me think about how we so often under-appreciate our lives. We see our circumstances as boring and yearn for more excitement. But so much depends on our outlook and attitude (click here to read an earlier post about contentment).Β With a little imagination and playfulness, we can turn something as simple as going to the bank into an adventure, a pleasure trip, an epic trek.

I encourage you to find a way to add some sparkle to your day today. It doesn’t need to cost any money or take any time. Just give your imagination a little kick in the pants. πŸ˜€

Here are the two pieces from the Sherlock soundtrack that I’ve downloaded from iTunes. Enjoy!

P.S. For all my “Sherlocking,” I still haven’t been able to figure out the name of the plant I talked about in my last post. Maybe I need John Watson to help me solve that puzzle!

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sherlocking down the street…

  1. Heather Grace Stewart Wednesday, July 3, 2013 at 10:13 am Reply

    We need to get you a trench coat and fedora. πŸ™‚ Entertaining, inspiring piece!

    • Ann-Margret Wednesday, July 3, 2013 at 10:26 am Reply

      LOL! I hadn’t thought of that. πŸ˜€ Thanks so much for your feedback, Heather.

Please share your thoughts!

