Mystery Flower

A month ago, for my birthday, my parents gave me a fabulous new plant to add to the growing collection in my studio. The “flowers” look a lot like wheat. Don’t you just love the texture?

The problem is, I don’t know what this plant is called! Sure, I could go back to the florist and ask him but I thought it would be more fun to post these photos and see if anyone knows. Here’s a photo of a new bud and the leaves as additional clues.

???????????????????????????????

Any takers? Just leave a comment below!

“The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God will stand forever.” (Isaiah 40:8 – ESV)

Tagged:

6 thoughts on “Mystery Flower

  1. Bob Harder Tuesday, July 2, 2013 at 10:04 am Reply

    Calathea wheat flower

    • Ann-Margret Tuesday, July 2, 2013 at 10:21 am Reply

      I just looked that up, Bob, and I don’t think that’s it. But thanks for the suggestion!

  2. LeeAnn Sunday, July 7, 2013 at 4:15 pm Reply

    I have no idea what that is! I am usually pretty good at plant id, but everyday you are faced with something new! Post when you get a positive id.

    • Ann-Margret Sunday, July 7, 2013 at 5:41 pm Reply

      I definitely will, LeeAnn! The bud has surprised me by producing three or four tiny peach / light orange blossoms. I will take photos of the progression. I’m curious to know at what point (and how) the flower turns into the wheat-like stalk. It’s so cool! Stay tuned. 😀 By the way, I’m entering your name into the giveaway!

  3. Janis Cox Monday, July 8, 2013 at 3:29 pm Reply

    Ann,
    So great to find you at Friday Foto. I love this adventure – but sorry I don’t know the name of that plant. It has much larger leaves than I have seen with a “wheat” plant.
    Blessings,
    Janis http://www.janiscox.com

    • Ann-Margret Monday, July 8, 2013 at 3:35 pm Reply

      Thanks, Janis! I’m going to post some new photos soon. There’s a neat orangey flower that starting to bloom so I think the “wheat” must be a later development. Once I figure this out, I’ll write about my discovery. 😀

      By the way, are you also entering the giveaway (my latest post) or only commenting on the flower? I can add your name to the entrants’ list since you’ve already met the first requirement by leaving a comment.

Please share your thoughts!

