Creating Beauty

“There must come a point in every girl’s life when she cares less about how beautiful she is and more about the beauty she creates.”

I wrote that when I turned 40. I was reflecting on things like getting pudgier with age and all the angst one goes through in her (or his) youth to look a certain way (often for absolutely no useful purpose) and how it’s nice to gradually shed that self-imposed pressure. At the same time, I was looking around my studio and enjoying the gorgeous plants and flowers I’ve slowly nurtured and thought about the beautiful things people have done for me–or that I’ve done for others–and I realized it’s so much more meaningful to put energy into creating beautiful experiences and memories for others than to simply look beautiful for them.

“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” (1 Peter 3:3-4)

“Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.” (Proverbs 31:30)

Tagged: ,

Please share your thoughts!

