My Favorite Day

I wrote the following piece for my church’s e-newsletter on Wednesday evening. Boy, do I need this reminder today. Apparently I gave myself food poisoning yesterday; I spent the entire night in agony (that’s all I’ll say). Today I’ve been feeling weak and exhausted, barely able to get up or force some food down. I could easily say this has not been my favorite day. And yet, it should be.

Read on…

I’ve always been a fan of children’s literature and, to this day, continue to add to my collection of classics; I can rarely resist a vintage copy when I come across one.

What I find interesting is reading some of these books as an adult and picking up precious lines that I never noticed as a kid. One example that I especially like is from Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne.

“What day is it?”
“It’s today,” squeaked Piglet.
“My favorite day,” said Pooh.

This brief dialogue is just a series of 13 simple words. At first glance, it seems juvenile and puerile. But I believe there’s a profound take-away for each of us. Pooh had a heart that was ready and willing to cherish and celebrate each and every day. He was intentional about enjoying whatever day it happened to be, not comparing it to yesterday or anticipating tomorrow.

Have you ever griped about Mondays? Do you know people who refer to Wednesdays as Hump Day? How do you feel on the days you know you have to do housework or write an exam or pay your bills?

Psalm 118:24 says, “This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

Let’s all make today our favourite day. And do it again tomorrow. And the day after that. We may be surprised to discover how wonderful any given day can be when we rejoice because the Lord made it.

So, how can today be my favorite day? Well, being self-employed I had no difficulty napping most of the day. I don’t feel great but my life is still the great life it was before I got sick and I have much to be grateful for and to look forward to once I feel better!

Here’s a quote from my upcoming book, Truth, Dare, Double Dare, which seems appropriate.

Ann DD

 

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Day

  1. Live this! And will be quoting Pooh Bear! I hate the labeling of days and have always tried to buck that trend, even posting to my wall, “Yeah its Monday” just to counter it.

    When you have survived death as many times as I have you learn to cherish every day no matter day of the week it is!

    • Ann-Margret says:

      Thanks for your comment(s), Karl! (Sadly, I can’t edit people’s comments…No worries, though.) :) I appreciate your ministry and your commitment to sharing the gospel with kids!

  2. Lynda Garniss says:

    Thank you for sharing with me. I like to use the salutation, ” Have a wonder-filled day!
    I think we can see wonder everyday if we look,listen,feel, taste the good that surrounds us! Blessings on your day!

Please share your thoughts!

